How to Easily Make Photo Selects with a Client Using Lightroom Web

by admin September 21, 2017 at 5:08 am

You’ve always been able to do selects from Lightroom on the Web, but until now you needed an Adobe ID. Convincing a client or model to sign up for an Adobe ID can be a challenge. Now they can authenticate using either Facebook or Google, making the process much simpler for everyone. If you are already using collections, you’re halfway there!


Photos in a collection

If you haven’t been syncing with Lightroom Mobile or have no idea what collections are, let’s take a look.


Select your photos and choose “Create Collection”

Give your collection a name. Make sure you “Include Selected Photos”

Now we’re going to head to lightroom.adobe.com and find your collection.


Once you have located the collection, click “Share”

A new dialog will pop up. Choose “Share this collection”

On the settings hit “Share this collection” once more

Now you’ll be able to set your preferences. I typically do “picked only” but if I am in a rush and haven’t finished my culling, I can do “picked+unflagged” and the client/model will see both (but no rejected shots). Copy the adobe.ly share link and send it to your model/client.


This also lets you control metadata/downloads and gives you the share link you’ll need

When your model/client visits the gallery link, they should see the images right away. Note: anyone with the link can see the images, too, so be mindful of where you share it. The client can then log in via the profile picture in the top right.


Click the blank profile image to log in

The old Adobe ID login screen. But now your users can use either Facebook or Google to authenticate as well.

This will then allow your client to ‘heart’ (or like) images as well as leave comments. You can also leave or reply to comments.

And of course, back in Lightroom Desktop you can view the comments as well.

Here’s a 3-minute video version of this same tutorial: